Look Ahead to Day 12

Published 17 August 2016

2016 Getty Images

After a sensational day yesterday that saw Great Britain surpass their 48 medal target for the Games, there is plenty more to look forward to.

There are more guaranteed medals in sailing, this time for Saskia Clark and Hannah Mills, who after opening up a 20-point lead in the 470 class, cannot be touched and will collect gold after the medal race today.

Athletics continues with the women's 200m final featuring Dina Asher Smith, as well as Jazmin Sawyers and Lorraine Ugen in the long jump final. Mo Farah is also back on the track, following his history-making 10,000m gold medal, as he attempts to do the double-double by recapturing his 5000m title; he goes in the heats.

And Britain's women's hockey team are one match away from a medal following an unbeaten record so far in Rio; they face New Zealand in the semi-final tonight.

More details of highlights throughout the day are below (times denoted are BST). For a full schedule, live updates and stats visit #EVERYROADtoRIO Live or keep up with medal moments by following @UK_Sport on Twitter.

Catch up with yesterday’s events click here.

Wednesday 17 August

Women’s 470, medal race, Saskia Clark and Hannah Mills (17:05)
Men 470, medal race, Luke Patience and Chris Grube (18:05)

Women’s 100m Hurdle semi-final, Tiffany Porter and Cindy Ofili (00:45 Thursday), final (02:55 Thursday)
Women’s Long Jump final, Jazmin Sawyers and Lorraine Ugen  (01:15 Thursday)
Women 200m final, Dina Asher Smith (02:30 Thursday)

Men’s 5000m heats, Mo Farah, Tom Farrell and Andrew Butchart (14:05)
Womens 800m heats, Lynsey Sharp and Sheleyna Oskan Clarke (14:55)
Men’s 200m semi-finals, Danny Talbot and Adam Gemilli (02:00)

Women’s semi-final – GB v New Zealand (21:00)

Quarter-final, Savannah Marshall v Nouchka Fontijn (19:15)

Men’s singles quarter-final, Rajiv Ouseph v Viktor Axelsen (14:10)

Canoe Sprint
Men’s K2 200m, heats, Liam Heath and John Schofield (13:37)
Women’s K1 500m, heats, Rachel Cawthorn (13:51)

Women’s Round 1, Charley Hull and Catriona Matthew (11:30)

Men’s BMX, seeding run Liam Phillips and Kyle Evans (18:34)

Women’s 10m prelim, Sarah Barrow and Tonia Couch (19:00)


Funding Partners
  • DCMS
  • TNL partners
Official Partners
  • BAES logo
  • BUPA
  • IHG logo
Strategic Partners
  • British Olympic Association
  • Paralympics GB
  • Sport England
  • Sport Northern Ireland
  • Sport Wales
  • Sport Scotland